The red carpet will once again be rolled out this year: For the second time, Frankfurter Buchmesse (16-20 October 2019) will award the Frankfurter Buchmesse Film Awards. The submissions period is now open for two categories: Until 15 July 2019, publishers and production and media companies may submit their proposals for the Film Awards for the categories “Best International Literary Adaptation” and “Best International Adaptation for Children or Young Adults”.

Feature films and TV productions and series that are based on literary works or children’s and young adult books may be submitted. Last year, INTRIGO – DEATH OF AN AUTHOR (directed by Daniel Alfredson), based on the novels by Håkan Nesser, won the award for “Best International Literary Adaptation”, and the German-Dutch production Romy’s Salon (directed by Mischa Kamp) won in the category “Best International Adaptation for Children or Young Adults”.

The award ceremony for the Frankfurter Buchmesse Film Awards will be held on Saturday, 19 October 2019, in the book fair’s Frankfurt Pavilion on the exhibition grounds. In addition to the awards for “Best International Literary Adaption” and “Best International Adaption for Children or Young Adults”, together with MGIP Motovun Group of International Publishers, a prize will also be awarded for the “Best Illustrated Book on Film”.

To participate, please complete the submission form and send it, together with your film material, to The deadline for submissions is 15 July 2019. If you have any questions, please contact Bettina Back (

Find the submission form here: