Tiwa Salvage and Davido crown as Queen and King of West Africa

Denrele Edun unveil as one of AFRIMA’s Red Carpet Hosts
19th November 2018
8th December 2018

The 5th All Africa Music Awards, AFRIMA held in Accra, Ghana on November, 24, 2018 had in attendance music stars, dignitaries, and music lovers across the continent, the annual music event seeks to celebrate and reward  African talents who have done exceedingly well in the year.

With a total of 36 categories, the 5th AFRIMA winners are culled from the Regional and Continental categories. In addition, special recognition awards fully decided by the International Committee of AFRIMA is awarded to individuals who have impacted positively to the world using their craft. The 5th AFRIMA Legendary awards was given to the internationally recognized South African singer, Yvonne Chaka Chaka. The music legend, who is “dubbed Princess of Africa” has a career span of over 30 years with several hit albums, has performed for notable personalities within and outside the country.

Executive Governor of Lagos State, Akinwunmi Ambode was awarded a special recognition for his contributions towards the growth and development of the Arts and Tourism sector of Lagos state, most importantly the role Lagos state played as official host of AFRIMA in its last 4 years from 2014 – 2017.

In what turned out to be an emotional moment for the audience, a special recognition awards was given to one of Ghana’s music veteran, Teddy Osei, the leader of the famous Osadebe group, an Atropop band created in 1969. The veteran who was helped to the stage in a wheelchair had been suffering from a mild stroke, but was overwhelmed by such great honour.

Godwin Iheanacho
Godwin Iheanacho
Author of Silver Lining, a series factual novella, Radio Drama Producer, versatile, dynamic and enterprising Music, Business & Arts Journalist based in Lagos, Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *